Michael Giles, President

Michael Giles is president of the Lumin Education Board of Directors and is the Managing Principal of the North Texas Regional offices of Right Management Consultants. He offers over 25 years of firsthand experience in career transition and management development, encompassing the not-for-profit sector, Fortune 500 level marketing, and successful entrepreneurial and consulting services. Mr. Giles’ background includes operational effectiveness design and implementation, team-building, management and supervisory development, and culture integration. He has a diverse background in marketing, administration, manufacturing, and distribution, with experience in both product and service sales and delivery. Mr. Giles holds an M.B.A. in Management from the University of Dallas. His bachelor level studies in Human Sciences were completed at Texas Christian University in Fort Worth and the University of Illinois in Champaign-Urbana. Mr. Giles has been a member of the Lumin Board of Directors since 2010.



Kelsey Clark

Kelsey Clark is Vice-President of the Lumin Education Board of Directors, is a Principal at The Boston Consulting Group and a core member of BCG’s Education Practice. She has extensive experience with education clients, including public school districts and charters. She has led engagements for both public and private sector clients focusing on developing and executing strategies and implementation plans. Prior to joining BCG, Kelsey’s work experience included FedEx Office and TXU Energy, where she held many roles across Finance, Strategy and Operations.  Kelsey received her MBA from The Wharton School of The University of Pennsylvania. She graduated with Highest Distinction from University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, where she earned her BA in Economics.



Mike Birrer, Treasurer

Mike Birrer is a member of the Lumin Education Board of Directors and is a partner in Carrington Coleman’s employment and litigation sections. His practice focuses primarily on issues related to labor, employment, and employee benefits. In addition to litigation, Mr. Birrer provides training, counseling, and advice regarding workforce matters. Mr. Birrer has been named by D Magazine as one of the “Best Lawyers in Dallas” for 2012; and from 2004 through 2007, he has been named by Texas Monthly magazine as a “Rising Star” in Texas law. After graduating from Hendrix College, magna cum laude, in 1989 he went on to Vanderbilt University where he earned a J.D. in 1992.  While at Vanderbilt, Mr. Birrer was Associate Editor of Order of the Coif and a board member of the Vanderbilt Law Review. He is a member of the Dallas Bar Association, the Dallas Bar Foundation, the Texas Bar Association, the Texas Bar Foundation, and the American Bar Association. Mr. Birrer has been a member of the Lumin Board of Directors since 2009.



John H. Fullinwider

John H. Fullinwider is member of the Lumin Education Board of Directors and is a Supervising Librarian at University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center, Executive Director of Common Ground Community Development Corporation, and a board member for Texas Low-Income Housing Information Service and the School for Community Organizing. He also taught in the Dallas Independent School District from 1994-2009. He co-founded Lumin in 1978 along with Executive Director, Terry Ford, believing that all children can succeed, regardless of race or income. Mr. Fullinwider earned a B.A. in English and Latin, with high honors, Phi Beta Kappa from the University of Texas at Austin and earned a Masters of Library Science from Texas Woman’s University. Mr. Fullinwider has numerous awards, including: DISD Teacher of the Year 1997-98, Excellence in Teaching Award in 1996, Volunteer of the Year Award in 1999, Equal Justice Award in 2003, and more. He has numerous published op-ed pieces, articles, and poems, as well as extensive press coverage of his community work and teaching. Mr. Fullinwider has been a member of the Lumin Board of Directors since 1978.


Not Pictured

Amrit Kirpalani

Amrit Kirpalani is a member of the Lumin Education Board of Directors and is the CEO and Co-Founder of DenuoSource and Nectar Online Media. Prior to joining DenuoSource, Mr. Kirpalani worked as a Management Consultant with McKinsey & Company where he served the consumer goods and telecom industries, primarily in the areas of Sales & Marketing, operations, and mergers & acquisitions. Prior to McKinsey, he worked as a manager with Accenture’s consumer & industrial practice serving retail chains in marketing and operations. Mr. Kirpalani has been a member of the Lumin Board of Directors since 2012.



Mary Caroline Parker, Secretary

Mary Caroline Parker is the Secretary of the Lumin Education Board of Directors. Currently the Executive Director of the Montessori Institute of North Texas (MINT), a teacher training center affiliated with AMI (Association Montessori International), she is a former member of the international board of AMI in the Netherlands, and a member of AMI’s Educateurs sans Frontières organizing committee, in which capacity she has organized international assemblies in Dallas, Thailand, and India. Mary Caroline was the school director of Lumin East Dallas Community School from 2001-2009, and has been a member of the Lumin Board of Directors since 2011. She holds the AMI Primary diploma from Centro de Estudios de Educación in Mexico City, a B.A. in Latin American Studies from Smith College, a M.Ed. in Montessori Integrative Learning from Endicott College, and a J.D. from American University in Washington, D.C.


 Not Pictured

Lecolion Washington, Sr.

Production Scheduler, Staples Print Solutions



Howard Rachofsky, Co-Chair

Donald Stone, Co-Chair

Anthony Atwell

Gene H. Bishop

Nicole De Santis

Hilary and Ian Galbraith

Judy Gibbs

Roger Horchow

Connie Karcher

Robert I. Kramer

Amy Ford Prestidge

Catherine Rose

William T. Solomon

R. “Jock” Stafford


Ms. Virginia Buckley

Mr. Andrew Emerson

Ms. Carol Ferguson

Mr. Stan Ferguson

Ms. Barbara Gordon

Mr. and Mrs. Clay S. Johnson III

Dr. Ann McGee-Cooper* and Dr. Larry Cooper

Dr. Jan Mallet

Ms. Victoria Meek

Ms. Cencelia M. Pierre CPA

Mr. Jim Weber


* In Memoriam

Facebook Twitter Pinterest Linkedin Email